Your privacy and the security of your data is a key principle of our system. The Group Admin and Organisation Admin have an important role to play to ensure these principles are maintained and you always remain in control of your content.
What are Groups?
Local vs Community Groups
All Groups start out as a Local Group., They can be created by any member of your Organisation, but can only contain members from your Organisation. As all of the users at your Organisation can already share Reflections with one another, you do not need to manage this type of group.
If the Group admin wants to invite users from outside of their organisation they will need to make their group a Community Group.
Community Groups can contain members from multiple Organizations. To create a Community Group, users first create a Local Group and then submit an upgrade request which is managed by their Organisation Administrator.
If any user from your Organisation requests to do this it will appear in the Group Requests section. If you approve this request then they may invite members of other Organizations into this group and they will be able to see any Reflections that members of your Organization have shared.
Because adding users from outside their organisation means data can be viewed by external users this needs to be approved by an Organisation Administrator.
The Group Permissions tab is where Organisation Administrators accept or reject various requests relating to Groups.
When a user from an outside organisation requests to join one of your groups, the request will appear here.
If a user from your organisation wants to share content with an external group, the request will appear here.
Group Administrators can make any member of the Group a Contributor member. If a user from your Organization is made a Contributor for a Group that you have not previously approved, then you will get a request to allow this Group into the Contributors Approved list below. If a Group is in the Contributors Approved list then any Contributors from your Organization will be able to share Reflections into a group that may contain members from multiple Organizations.
You can remove a Group from the Contributors Approved list anytime and all Reflections shared by users from your Organization will be removed from the Group.
This will show local groups that have been approved to be community groups
Community groups created by a user from another organisation that an administrator from this organisation has approved contributors for. This can either be via a 'request' which is triggered when a member of your organisation is made a contributor of another organisation's group, or when the group is approved by ticking the box under the Contributors Not Approved list
Contributors Not Approved
This tab will show any group where a user from your organisation is a member but contributors have not been approved by an administrator from your organisation.
You can either tick the box for the group and it will then move to the approved tab, or wait and decide to approve it if a request is made to make a user a contributor.
You can get more information on the Group related to a permission request by clicking the More Info button next to the Group name.
If you reject an Upgrade Request the group admin will see this noticiation
and this message on the Group Collaboration page
If you reject a Contributor request the Group admin will see this message on the user menu and is able to click Request Again if they wish