NOTE: This guide is for Organisation Administrators
This article will explain all the features under the Reflection tab on the Admin Settings page. which is designed to assist you with fulfilling your GDPR and safeguarding responsibilities.
To help with monitoring activity and fulfilling your GDPR obligations, you can see a brief overview of who is recording and uploading content including a thumbnail preview of any video.
This thumbnail preview provides a rough overview of likely content without access to any of the details (comments/forms etc). We believe it provides the right balance for administrators to achieve GDPR compliance and provide safeguarding needs, as required in your role as an administrator, whilst maintaining the privacy of the users' recordings.
Media Preview Explained
- The thumbnail duration of a 1-hour recording is about 5 seconds long
- The thumbnail preview contains no audio
- Admins can only see the title of the reflection if the reflection is shared with them
- Admins cannot see comments/form responses linked to the reflection
This tool is specifically designed for safeguarding and GDPR compliance - it is covered in the Data Processing and Organisation Administrator Agreement (see below)
Below is an except of administrators' responsibilities from the IRIS Connect Organisation Administrator and Data Processing Agreement that every administrator must agree to:
|3.5 Management of Content
Your organisation is the data controller for all data uploaded by Users at your organisation to the IRIS Connect system. Your designated Organisation Administrator/s is responsible for making day to day decisions about the management of recorded data, permissioning collaboration groups, data sharing and the monitoring of data recorded by your Organisation.
3.5.1 IRIS Connect provides a content oversight tool that enables Organisation Administrators to review randomised thumbnail images from videos recorded within the organisation. This tool is designed to enable the identification of inappropriate content. You agree to only use this tool for this sole purpose.
3.5.2 You will be responsible for the management and monitoring of data owned by your Organisation. If a User at your organisation flags an issue with a recording or any other content, you agree that you are responsible for investigating the issue and for ensuring that any inappropriate content is removed.
4.4 Management of Use:
The IRIS Connect system is for professional development, educational research and learning
development, consequently, you agree:
4.4.1 To ensure that the use of the system is aligned with the stated purpose and that the system
is not used for surveillance of staff or learners
4.4.2 To ensure that use of the system complies with the End User Licence Agreement (EULA)
including, but not limited to:
18.104.22.168 To use the system to promote better learning outcomes
22.214.171.124 That all Users conduct themselves in a professional manner, to not use the
system to bully or intimidate other Users or data subjects
126.96.36.199 To ensure recorded content is appropriate to and aligned with the purpose
188.8.131.52 To make sure recording equipment is positioned so it’s visible, safely located and
unlikely to record data which is not required or not for the purpose you are using the
184.108.40.206 To make sure Users are empowered to report to the organisation administrator,
content or use that does not meet the above criteria
220.127.116.11 To ensure Users maintain system security and don't share passwords
How to use the Media Preview
Admins can find this section under Reflections in the admin settings.
The next page will show a list of users who have uploaded reflections, how many reflections they own and a button to go further into each user's reflections.
On the next page, you will see a list of reflections for the user you selected.
If you click the Preview button, you can see a brief snapshot of the video recording.
If you wish to see the full recording, you can click the Request Access button which will send a notification to the reflection owner to share the reflection with you.
Deleting a Recording
If you need to delete a recording for a particular reason, you are able to do this by clicking this button next to the reflection.
Full Media Access
The IRIS Connect system has a feature for full media access for administrators, enabling access to playback a full recording.
INFO: Requirements of use
This feature is only enabled by IRIS Connect in very rare circumstances. First we ensure we have consulted with the organization to understand their needs for this feature and only once they have communicated to all their users that this feature has been enabled will it be permitted to be used.
The request form for this feature is here: Authorisation Form.
This feature enables you to see which users have accessed which recordings. This feature is solely to be used to ensure GDPR and data security and safeguarding obligations at met.
Administrators are able to request the logging feature is enabled. Once enabled, logs can be accessed under the Reflections tab from Admin Settings as described above, then click on the log iconto see who has accessed the reflection.
Example of a log:
To enable this feature, please complete this Authorisation Form
Lesson Codes is a feature whereby the user is required to enter a specific code when creating a reflection. By using a code that is in an organisationally agreed format it makes it easy for the organisation to identify who was present during the filming and thus the likely data subjects.
The lesson codes are then able to be searched within the admin console making it a lot easier for administrators to know what data they are holding on any individuals which will likely be useful for any safeguarding concerns or data subject access requests.
When enabled, administrators can
1. select Search Lesson Codes from the admin console
2. They can then use the Search Lesson Codes box to search their organisations' reflections
3. Like the Reflection section on the admin console, Administrators are able to:
- View title (if the reflection is shared with them)
- View the owner
- View date
- Delete the reflection
- Access (review/request access depending on if the reflection is shared with them or not)