This guide shows you how to share a specific Reflection with another user or to a platform Group. You may wish to find out generally about sharing and collaborating using IRIS Connect, in which case click here.
About 'sharing' in IRIS Connect
Collaboration is a big part of IRIS Connect and although it is entirely up to you whether or not to keep your Reflections private, we encourage sharing as a tool to support reflective practice and ongoing development.
Your Reflections can be shared with anyone in your organisation, provided they have an IRIS Connect account, and any trusted colleague with whom a trust network has been established.
Info: Only Reflection owners can share.
It is not possible to share a reflection that you do not own (i.e. that has been shared with you). Only the owner of a Reflection can access the share options.
You can also share with platform Groups that you are a contributor to. This Group may include only members of your organisation, or may have members from other organisations too.
Want to find out more about Group collaboration? Access the Groups guide here.
Accessing the share panel
Quick share from your Reflections library
You can share from the thumbnail view in your reflections library, by clicking the green share arrow. This will bring up the 'Share with Users' and 'Share with Groups' options outlined below.
From the review screen
You can share from within the review screen of an individual reflection. Simply click the Share tab under the video player.
Add a Share
1. Click 'Add New Share'.
2. Click into the search box.
When you click into the text box, a list of accounts will drop down, as shown.
3. Select or search.
Typing the name of a person in your network will search for them. Simply select the name of the account or group space you wish to share your Reflection with.
If preferred, you can use the 'Users' or 'Groups' option to select to show only individuals, or just the platform Groups to which you are a contributor.
Click on an individual or group and it will be added to your share list. You can share with multiple users by searching and selecting further names.
4. Remove a name from the list.
You can simply press the X button next to a user or group to remove it from your share list.
5. Click Add.
Once you are happy with the list of shares shown, you can select 'Add' to share your Reflection.
Users or Group Administrators will receive a notification that you have shared with them / their group.
Once a Reflection is shared with someone, they will be able to view it in their own Reflection library. Depending on their notification settings, they might get an email that tells them you have shared a Reflection with them.
When a Reflection is shared, any comments or attachments are also shared.
When a Reflection is shared with a group, all members of that group will be able to see the comments attached to that Reflection.
If you share to a group, any Group Administrator users will receive a notification that you have shared a Reflection to the group. This may include an email.
Remember, it is not possible to share a Reflection that you do not own.
If you share your Reflection with someone, they can not then share it with others.
They also won't see your private tags, but they will see and be able to add to the comments stream unless you turn off commenting. See here
Remove a share
You can remove the sharing permissions for a user or group at any time by clicking 'Unshare' next to their name. This will immediately prevent them from being able to view the Reflection.