This article will show you how to add comments to a Reflection in your Reflections library. This might be a Reflection that you own, or is shared with you.
Contents of this article:
- Review a Reflection
- Add comments
- Edit a comment/time stamp
- Closed captions
- Comment Download Feature
- Reply to comments
- Delete a comment
- Link to a comment
Review a Reflection
Access your Reflections library
Use the navigation pane at the top of your platform page to navigate to your personal Reflections library.
Select the Reflection you wish to access
From your Reflections library, identify the Reflection you would like to use. If you have many pages of Reflections, you may find the filter tools on the left-hand side are useful.
Select Review to go to that Reflection's review page.
You will find the comments tab next to the video player in a Reflection review screen.
Type your comments in the text box, then click the teal Send button.
Your comment will be saved and a timestamp will be added.
Timestamps show which part of the video you were watching when you wrote the comment.
The below comment was added at minute 19. No duration is shown as the video was paused.
In the below image, you can see the comment took 21 seconds from starting typing to submitting so it has a time stamp at 51 seconds into the video and relates to the next 21 seconds.
TIP: Click on a comment to watch the relevant moment in the video.
Simply click on any comment to be taken to the moment in the video to which it is linked.
When you watch the video the comment will be highlighted yellow as the timestamped part of the video is played.
Edit a comment/timestamp
You can edit a comment that you have added to make changes to the text or to adjust the timestamp if it is not accurate.
The timestamp should relate to the moment in the video that the comment is referring to. Sometimes, typing a comment takes longer than the elapsed time of the moment that it references. In this case, you may wish to alter the timestamp that was generated.
To edit a timestamp, click the 3 vertical dots and select Edit Timestamp
Use the sliders to select the start and end points and then click Save.
TIP: Pause the video to select the 'start' and 'end' times.
You may find it easier to have established your desired start and end times for your clip before starting to edit. Jot down the times you want, and then pause the video, using the scrubbing bar to find them in the video.
If you have enabled the closed caption setting you will see the comment displayed on the video as well.
The comment will display for the duration of the comment's timestamp.
Comment Download Feature
As an admin, if you'd like to enable the comment download feature, reach out to IRIS Connect support. Once this feature has been enabled, you'll be able to export the comments on a reflection into a separate file.
Once this feature is enabled, to access, click on the reflection in your Reflection Library, then the Videos tab.
Then, click the settings icon under the Videos tab. Then click Export Captions.
Your comments will then be downloaded into a file.
When you click on the file, your comments will appear as shown in the image below. You'll be able to see the time stamp of the comment, the name of the commenter, and the comment made.
Reply to comments
Build rich dialogue with colleagues, or develop your self-reflective commentary by using the reply feature to develop a thread of comments around a particular moment of footage.
You can reply to any comment by pressing the Reply button, then simply add your text and click the teal Submit button.
You can edit a reply by clicking the three dots, and Edit.
Delete a comment
You can delete comments that you have written on a shared Reflection, or any comments made on a Reflection that you own. Click on the 3 vertical dots then select delete.
A pop-up will prompt you to confirm. Click OK to confirm that you want to delete the comment.
Deleting a comment will delete all replies to the comment.
Deleting one of your own comments.
Deleting a comment from someone else.
You can share a link to a comment in an external application, by copying the link from this settings cog.
It produces a URL that will go to the Reflection at the moment of the comment.
NOTE: Only people who have access to the Reflection will be able to use this link.
The link does not give someone access to the Reflection if they do not already have access. If you wish to link someone to a comment on your Reflection, you will first need to share the Reflection with them.