This guide shows you how to share a Reflection with another user or to a Group. If you wish to find out more about sharing and collaborating using IRIS Connect in general, click here.
Contents of this article:
- About Sharing in IRIS Connect
- Accessing the Share Panel
- Add a Share
- Shared Reflections
- Remove a Share
About Sharing in IRIS Connect
Collaboration is an important aspect of IRIS Connect, however, it is entirely up to you whether to share and collaborate or keep your Reflections private. We do encourage sharing as a tool to support reflective practice and ongoing development.
Your Reflections can be shared with anyone in your organisation, provided they have an IRIS Connect account, and any trusted colleague with whom a trust network has been established.
Info: Only the owner of the reflection can share it.
It is not possible to share a reflection that you do not own (i.e. that has been shared with you). Only the owner of a Reflection can access the share options.
You can also share with platform Groups that you are a contributor to. This Group may include only members of your organisation, or may have members from other organisations too.
Want to find out more about Group collaboration? Access the Groups guide here.
Accessing the Share Panel
Quick share from your Reflections library
You can share from the thumbnail view in your reflections library, by clicking the green share arrow. This will bring up the 'Share with Users' and 'Share with Groups' options outlined below.
From the Review Screen
You can share from within the review screen of an individual reflection. Simply click the Share tab under the video player.
Add a Share
1. Click 'Add New Share'
2. Click into the search box
When you click into the text box, a list of accounts will drop down.
3. Select or Search
Type in the name of the person or group you wish to share your Reflection with. If preferred, you can use the dropdown filter to show only individual 'Users' or only 'Groups' to which you are a contributor.
Click on an individual or group and it will be added to your share list. You can share with multiple users by searching and selecting more than one account.
4. Remove a name from the list
You can simply click Remove next to a user or group to remove it from your share list before confirming the share:
5. Add a message
You can type out a message which the user will receive when notified of the share via email, and as a notification on the platform.
6. Click Confirm.
Once you are happy with the list of shares shown, select Confirm to share your Reflection.
Users or Group Administrators will receive a notification that you have shared with them / their group.
Users will also receive an email notifying them about the shared Reflection which will also contain any text that you entered into the message box.
Once a Reflection is shared with someone, they will be able to view it in their own Reflection library. Depending on their notification settings, they may get an email that tells them you have shared a Reflection with them.
When a Reflection is shared, any comments or attachments are also shared.
When a Reflection is shared with a group, all members of that group will be able to see the comments attached to that Reflection.
If you share to a group, any Group Administrator users will receive a notification that you have shared a Reflection to the group. This may include an email.
Remember, it is not possible to share a Reflection that you do not own.
If you share your Reflection with someone, they can not then share it with others.
They also won't see your private tags, but they will see and be able to add to the comments stream unless you turn off commenting. See here.
Sharing a Link to a Reflection
Once you have shared a Reflection with another user, you can also send them a link. You can either copy the URL from the address bar or use the buttons on the sharing menu.
Additionally, you can send someone a link to a comment you have added to a Reflection, just click on the options button (3 vertical dots) then select Copy Link.
Remember you need to have shared the Reflection with the user, otherwise when they follow the link they will not be able to access it and will see the below error message:
Remove a Share
You can remove the sharing permissions for a user or group at any time by clicking 'Unshare' next to their name. This will immediately prevent them from being able to view the Reflection.
If you have sent someone a link to a Reflection or they have bookmarked it and they then try to access it once you have removed the share, they will see the below error message: